Mapping out

I am roleplaying a story online and the world we roleplay in is pretty vague. There are some nice descriptions but we were lacking a world map. So I scrolled the forums and found that some other roleplayers in the same world had created a map with all the cannon locations.

I know about some powerful software, Dundjinni and Campaign Cartographer that can create maps for fantasy worlds with pre-loaded art. I also found a useful site for inclinations towards using traditional Paint software. The site is called the Cartographers’ Guild so opting for the latter (due to price) I got to work.

It was a mix or trial and error with creating a replicant map showing an improvised geographical land rather than a purely geometric land. Although yes, I admit, both are hardly the things you wish to wow audiences with.

I used Paint.NET as it is simple, fast and is basically a PhotoShop with the ends cut off. But the techniques for layers, and applying digital effects are the same.

The map had a lot of layers, as I was creating from somebody elses project and wished to get some of the locations in the correct place.

About Fantasy Perception

I mixed colours at college. Scraped 125 credits on my Fine Art (Bachelor of Arts) and applied it to the Decorating and Plastering trade.
This entry was posted in Cartography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

